The Top 20 Items you Must Have in your Wardrobe: Part 1.

A guest post from Angel Ramos, Astor & Black clothier and Esquire’s Best Dressed Real Man, 2010.

If you’re anything like me, you get caught up surfing the web, looking at fashion blogs, and telling yourself, “I want that, and that, and that too!” Let’s face it, ask me what’s on my wish list, you’ll get a list that goes on forever!

But as I spend my days meeting with clients for fittings and deliveries I find myself in their closets saying you must have one of these, or those, and this. They’re called Wardrobe Staples.

You might have 20+ suits in your closet, however that doesn’t mean your wardrobe is complete.

Here are the first 10 items on my Must Have list:

1. Gorgeous Navy Suit. A (3 button roll 2) notch lapel, with brown horn buttons and a killer lining.

2. Charcoal Grey Suit. I’d normally go with a 2 button peak lapel, hacking pockets, with a ticket pockets, natural shoulders with a slight rope.

3. Double Breasted Navy Blazer. With Gold Buttons. I don’t care how “Old Man” you think this is; trust me with a tailored cut, amazing details and fit it tends to always be one of my go-to’s.

4. Classic White Shirt (Duh). One with French cuffs, one with a double button angled barrel cuff.

5. Classic Black Tuxedo with Shawl Collar. Take note; tuxedos were not meants to be communal!

6. Navy Tuxedo with a 1 button peak lapel, natural shoulders, flat front trousers with no cuff, side tabs and suspender buttons.

7. Cashmere Sports Coat. I used to love wearing cashmere sport coats when I lived in cities with seasons, however since living in Miami I’ve started going with a very light weight cashmere that weighs about 7oz. and with ¼ lining it weighs about as much as a shirt!

8. Cashmere Cardigan. Classic Elegance. You can actually substitute a vest with this and have a cool winter 3 piece suit look.

9. Powder Blue Winter Wool Overcoat I actually have an amazing one that’s double breasted, brown horn buttons, hacking pockets with a ticket pocket, roped shoulders and epaulettes.

10. Three Piece Brown Tweed Suit. In the most classic manner, a 2 button notch lapel. This is a bit English of me since I tend to lean on the Milanese side of style but I just love the look.

What’s on your Must Have list? Post a comment here and let us know.

Tags: ,

Categories: Guest Blog, Timeless Wardrobe Tips

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “The Top 20 Items you Must Have in your Wardrobe: Part 1.”

  1. Jocelyn Clervil
    June 29, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    I think very man should have at least one plaid suit. It’s a very classy suit.

  2. Derek Rowe
    June 29, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    Angel,
    Great list so far. Only suggestion I have is to actually have pictures of all of the items you describe. I look forward to the remaining items on this list of must haves.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Top 20 Items you Must Have in your Wardrobe: Part 2 via @AstorandBlack | TheWellDressedMan.net – Men's Fashion Advice Online - July 8, 2011

    […] Posted by bwills on July 8th, 2011 The continuation of Angel Ramos’ guest post: The Top 20 Items You Must Have in Your Wardrobe. Read Part 1 here. 11. Chocolate Brown Lace-ups 12. Camel Color Loafers with Tassels. I love […]

  2. The Top 20 Items you Must Have in your Wardrobe: Part 1. via @AstorandBlack | TheWellDressedMan.net – Men's Fashion Advice Online - July 1, 2011

    […] More at: http://astorandblackblog.com/2011/06/29/the-top-20-items-you-must-have-in-your-wardrobe-part-1/ You can leave a response, or trackback from your own […]

Leave a Reply

