I’m a Sucker for a Seersucker

A guest post from Angel Ramos.

Gentlemen, I’m not sure where you rest your head at night, but down here in the South we start whipping out the pastel colored shirts and light colored suits in April. These are the days that we start thinking about light colored cotton suits and linens; and for those of us that indulge in the good ole’ Kentucky Derby events, there’s the seersucker suit. What’s cool about the seersucker suit? Its thin, cotton fabric makes it perfect for a warm spring or summer day!

Now, when I was younger I would have rather just worn the trousers with a polo, because wearing a full seersucker suit always seemed a bit too conservative. The full suit always made me think about some Colonel Sanders-looking-guy betting on a horse. But luckily, with the way that fashion tends to evolve, many designers have taken the seersucker and put their own modern twist on it.

In my opinion, it’s a great staple to have in or add to your wardrobe because of its versatility. I’ve seen some men go all out and wear theirs with spectator shoes and bow ties to others who ditch the tie and rock them with loafers. Also, try wearing the trousers with a pair of white Chuck Taylors and a pastel polo shirt. It makes for a very clean, summer prep look.

Luckily for you it just so happens to be our “Fabric of the Week”. I know, what a coincidence, right? Normally it’s priced at $699, but this week only, custom made for you at $490. I don’t care what you say–that’s an awesome price! So, here are some tips for you to tell your clothier (or for my clients to call or email me about).

1. Slimmer notch lapel, 3 button roll 2, side vents, ticket pockets, white mother of pearl buttons, flat front with no cuffs (for my fashionistas)

2. Bold notch lapel, 3 button roll 2, side vents, white mother of pearl buttons, patch pockets, flat front with a 2” cuff (this is for my sartorials).

3. Or spice it up as a 2 button peak lapel, slanted ticket pockets, side vents, flat front no cuffs.

Now schedule an appointment and get your personal design started!

http://astorandblack.com
1.877.ASTOR18

Tags: , ,

Categories: Guest Blog, Specials, Timeless Wardrobe Tips

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “I’m a Sucker for a Seersucker”

  1. George
    April 14, 2012 at 12:17 am #

    Correct that pocket square so it doesn’t look like crap…… and a pique, slim lapel would be so cool on that cut.

  2. Joe Phillips
    April 20, 2011 at 1:19 am #

    Angel, I learned about you from Michael Herklots. You have a great perspective. For Easter in Dallas (90 degrees) I’m going with a Charcoal/White stripe Seer with yellow. In my prior life I sold high end suits. To you, my compliments, you have it down!

  3. March 31, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    You wouldn’t believe the response I’ve gotten to this post. Chicago is going to be full of Seersucker Suckers this summer! Although the same fabric, every suit I’ve styled for my clients will be a little bit different from the next one. You’re a genius, Angel!

  4. Catrina mom of Ethan
    March 30, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    I love Spring and Summer, hust for these suits. The Seersucker suit is the suit for my son during those seasons. I have him not only in the blue seer, but the Tobacco and Green seersucker suits. Top it off with a straw fedora and depending on the event loafers, driving shoes or old school Chuck Taylors (he is 8 years old).
    Love you guys

Leave a Reply

