Not all rules are meant to be broken.

A guest post from Angel Ramos.

Sometimes other gentlemen seek me out to analyze the little things I do with my attire. They question, not in an insulting way, but in an inquisitive way, the minor details.  How I wear my monk straps. Why I tie my tie the way I do. Why my vent is longer than most suits. And through my conversations with them, explaining the way I dress and how I express my personality through my clothing, we always end up with same question, “What are the rules when it comes to buttoning my suit jacket?”

Now, I’m not one for fashion rules, at all. It wouldn’t be considered “style” if you didn’t take something and add your own twist to it. However, there are ground rules that I believe were set by our “Sartorial Founding Fathers” that, no matter what route you take, should still be followed.

Let’s start by a trip to our closets and donate any suits that exceed 3 buttons. Seriously. I don’t care if you’re a 6’8” giant, that doesn’t mean keep adding buttons. When you’re dealing with 3 button suits, always button only the middle. I know many of you see some gentlemen with the top two buttoned, but steer clear. I personally love 3 button suits. Next time ask your clothier to explain a 3 button roll 2.

When it comes to the timeless 2 button suit, it’s always the top only. I’ve seen many people, even “stylish” celebs, button both and destroy the look.

Lately I’ve seen some gents rocking the one button suit, which I think looks great. I have Astor & Black making me some as we speak. The one button suit has always been associated with a tuxedo or dinner jacket, however the one button suit looks amazing and very clean. That doesn’t mean to add more than one button to a single breasted tux; stick to one.

It’s all about the basics.


Tags: , ,

Categories: Timeless Wardrobe Tips

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Not all rules are meant to be broken.”

  1. August 15, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    yea cos you know more than hundreds of years of tradition don’t you mate…

Leave a Reply

